top of page

MCDPH Internship - Class of 2021

Updated: Apr 21, 2021



I started working at WIC just shy of 10 years ago. I knew when I graduated at the time that WIC is where I wanted to be, and it quickly felt like home. Public Health is so important to me and MCDPH is a program whose foundation was built around it. I honestly don’t know if I could see myself doing anything else, and this whole experience has been a million times better than I could have ever dreamed it to be. It’s a pretty amazing feeling to be surrounded by people who want many of the same things you do for the world.


I would say the program made me more confident that I’m in the right place. I learned and gained something from every rotation, but the ones where I could sit, talk, and learn about people were my favorite. I really enjoyed my renal rotation at Fresenius. I learned so muc

h and it was fun experiencing such a specific part of medical nutrition therapy. There was knee to knee counseling and education that happened there, which was just so cool to watch. I also had an awesome experience at Desert Mission Food Bank. I have never experienced a food bank atmosphere, and for 5 weeks I got to learn all about what it takes to run a food bank and feed families in need. Such an awesome experience!


Rosewood was my most challenging rotation because it was far away and the days were long; but the experiences were incredible. The staff at Rosewood is amazing, and they’re all so passionate and good at what they do. They really let us be “hands on”, learning the good, the bad, and the ugly; but at the end of the day, when there were smiles and laughs shared, you knew you were in a place where everyone really cared about what they were doing. I was lucky because a fellow intern and I drove together so we could debrief and cry together on our way home. Even though it was hard, Rosewood was my favorite rotation.


MCDPH is such an incredible internship. You get so many different experiences, a little taste of everything. You can really get a feel for what you want to do. The directors are amazing. They are there for you whenever you need them, and they want to make sure you have worthwhile experiences. The cohorts they build are always so amazing, and I’m so thankful for our group! My advice is to just be patient with the process. It’s stressful, exhausting, and there are SO many days I wanted to give up, but if you’re willing to work hard (and lose just a LITTLE bit of sleep) you’re in the right place. I promise it’s worth it.


Terra Johnson

WIC


 

My name is Sarah Gingras and I am with the WIC track internship. I chose this program because I have been working with WIC for almost 3 years and I plan on staying with WIC. Public Health is something that I love because the prevention care that is provided helps families in the long run. This program allows me to continue to work part-time with WIC during the internship and leads me to a job as an RD once I complete the program. When applying for the WIC track program, looking at the PAL was a little daunting but after reading through each competency slowly it made more sense, and I was able to fill it out with ease. Some competencies are hard to prove but a previous supervisor/mentor can help you show proof, so it is good to keep in contact with people you have worked with within dietetics.


A rotation I enjoyed was with the pediatric population similar to WIC. I was able to create educational videos and activities for children and their parents. This was an opportunity to be creative to help families and children understand nutrition on their level. There weren't any expectations about the project which made it more exciting to come up with something I think children would enjoy doing. I know I still have a lot more rotations, so I am excited to see what other opportunities I have to be creative with my nutrition knowledge to help others. All of the preceptors I worked with so far have been very helpful with answering all my questions and they provide great insight into their specific job to help me see all areas of dietetics.


Also, the cohort I am with is very supportive of each other if we need some assistance or have questions for each other. Although we do not meet in person, being able to see everyone virtually still makes us feel like we are connected.


Sarah Gingras

WIC


 


I knew the MCDPH dietetic internship was the best fit for me for many reasons. I began working with the WIC program in 2016 knowing it was an area of nutrition I was passionate about. I wanted to make a career out of. I loved that MCDPH DI would be able to provide me amazing learning opportunities to connect and work alongside great dietitians, not only in my current work but in clinical and food service management settings. This program really allows you to explore the field of dietetics and help widen your learning experience to continue building skills to achieve your full potential.


My favorite part of the program is the connections I have made. The team at MCDPH DI is amazing and you work alongside a cohort of interns that truly care for you and push you to succeed.


MCDPH DI is a solid program that will provide valuable experiences throughout the Phoenix area. Each rotation is unique and you will meet amazing dietitians who are passionate about what they do. My advice to future interns is to make yourself stand out and to take every opportunity you can in your rotations to explore new opportunities and widen your learning experience.


Gabriel Castillo

WIC


 

I was looking for an internship that offered an emphasis to further my experience in Public Health and community nutrition. Not only does MCDPH provide you with that opportunity, but the program also truly goes above and beyond within one of the largest counties within the nation.


With being on the MCDPH WIC track, the program directly prepares interns to continue a career within public health and community services. We are provided with such a diverse number of rotations within the public health realm: community health centers, Arizona Department of Health Services, and Head Start, all of which provided a strong skillset to continue my career within WIC.


My favorite part was the networking component. Within the internship you are given such a valuable opportunity to meet and learn from such leaders in the field of Dietetics throughout the Phoenix community.


In each rotation you are pushed beyond your previous experiences and comfortability, which provides such an experience to grow. For me, I hadn’t had any previous experience within policy and had felt a bit behind. From having to present on my own policy presentation, participating in RD Day with local legislators, and attending several other presentations and trainings, I have gained such a passion within the policy area.


MCDPH offers such a unique internship opportunity by being through the county rather than a traditional university. You are provided with insight into public health and the program is led by phenomenal internship directors that are available to ensure you succeed.


Samantha Flatland

WIC



MCDPH was my top internship choice for a couple of reasons. Although all internships provide experiences in community, clinical, and food service; it was the public health focus that really spoke to me. Health equity and access to food is something I didn’t feel was covered enough in my dietetic coursework, and yet it is the foundation for healthy living. For me, the exposure to all of the programs that exist in our community that help people access healthy foods and other essential resources is incredibly important for an upcoming dietitian to experience.


Another positive about MCDPH, one that isn’t mentioned near enough, is the cost of the program. If you are seeking the full-time track, the cost is literally half that of neighboring internships. This is huge when considering that most dietetic interns receive no income during the entirety of their program (almost a year), and most schedules do not allow for additional time to be spent working elsewhere.


My clinical rotation at Banner University Medical Center in Phoenix (BUMCP) was my most difficult rotation. I had zero clinical experience except for my coursework and a couple simulation activities. Not only was there a lot to learn, adjusting to a high acuity hospital at the height of COVID was difficult. With each week though, I became more and more comfortable in the setting. Now, being on the other side of the experience I feel fortunate I was able to have had an in-person experience. I learned a ton and felt so accomplished after completing the rotation; because I basically did something I was apprehensive about ever since starting my coursework.


My favorite part about this internship is the varied experiences. Sometimes, each new rotation felt like I was adjusting to a whole new world – totally different focus, different goals, and different expectations for the role of the RD. And, that was kind of the best part. The internship really showcases the myriad of possibilities that appear to exist once you’ve earned those RD credentials.


If I were to offer any advice to potential recruits, it would be to read everything you can about a program you’re interested in. Make sure it feels like a good fit for you because you will spend about a year completing everything. When applying and interviewing, take it seriously. Be as professional as possible. MCDPH is a competitive program, and they have high expectations of their interns.


Danielle Anderson

Full-Time


 

When I was an undergrad student, my interest was clinical; however, after I graduated with a dietetic degree in 2017, I started working at Maricopa County WIC. I had no idea the diverse group of people WIC served and how much passion the program had to provide quality nutrition education and counseling services. After working at WIC for a few years, I decided to apply for the internship and commit to the contract if I was accepted. When the directors of the program called me, it was the best news I had received.


Throughout my path in the internship program, I have learned so much in every field. Every rotation, you discover something new about the community and about the area itself. There were some rotations that I never set attention to before starting but being flexible and positive helped me enjoy each rotation. There were some challenges I came across, but they were great opportunities to improve myself.


My favorite rotation was at St. Vincent de Paul because I learned a lot of new information and was provided with resources, I could make use of in my career. I also enjoyed the school nutrition rotation because it let me be involved in many activities like helping out the kitchen staff, handing out food to families, and learning management roles. Overall, every rotation had a unique way of teaching me something new.

Although it was a fascinating journey, I am excited to return to WIC with new skills obtained from the internship.


Wilfredo Vasquez

WIC


 

I chose MCDPH because I wanted a dietetic internship that focused on public health and community. My passion has always been to work with underrepresented, underserved, and under-researched communities. MCDPH allowed me to do just that during my internship. This dietetic internship also focuses on preventative measures, which is fascinating, and I’m happy I chose this internship.

The MCDPH dietetic internship helped me be a well-rounded professional by providing me opportunities to rotate to places such as an outpatient diabetes clinic, school child nutrition, and food systems. Throughout this internship, I found new passions and areas of dietetics that I did not know I would love so much. I have a heavy research background, which made me think that I would be a clinical dietitian; however, I fell in love with my school nutrition rotation and food systems rotation (I would have never guessed that!)

My favorite rotations during the MCDPH dietetic internship were school nutrition with Alhambra Elementary School District and Food Systems. The Child Nutrition Coordinator (Brienne) was fantastic; she was always open to new ideas, projects, and suggestions, making that rotation unique. She was also a great preceptor; I could tell she is passionate about school nutrition, which made me realize that I liked child school nutrition. There is so much to explore! As for Food Systems, this rotation was eye-opening! I learned so much, and it lit up a spark inside me. I have so much to learn and so much to explore. Empowering communities is not only about education but acknowledging outside factors, the hierarchy of food needs, and checking deep within ourselves, and assess if we are doing more harm than good to underserved/underrepresented communities. Food systems helped me piece everything together a little better.


A challenging rotation for me was St. Vincent De Paul Diabetes Clinic, but oh boy, did I love it! It was a terrific rotation, and I had a fantastic preceptor (Monica, you are wonderful!). This rotation pushed me out of my comfort zone, but it allowed me to learn and grow professionally.


MCDPH is a solid choice for looking to have more exposure to public health, policy, and community nutrition. Before applying and internship, keep in mind what you want to get out of it and what skills you are bringing to the table. Be confident, be humble, and be ready to learn (it will take you far!).


Irlena Penaloza

Full-Time


 

Relationships I Will Never Forget

After matching to my dream dietetic internship, I knew I was about to begin one of the most unforgettable experiences of my RD journey. I knew I would be challenged in ways I could never imagine but I also knew these challenging experiences would better prepare me for my dream career. What I didn’t know is how many wonderful people I would meet along the way. From our amazing directors (shoutout to Diana and Lisa), my incredibly supportive cohort (woot-woot class of 2021), to the kind and welcoming rotation preceptors and members of the Maricopa County community!


I learned so much from each and every one of the individuals mentioned above. Every encounter I had with them was a learning experience and for that, I am incredibly grateful.


At the beginning of the internship rotations, I often felt nervous. Terrified to speak sometimes. Terrified to ask questions. But because of the kind support system we had within our internship, I was able to reach out, vent, ask questions to other interns, and see if they were experiencing the same thing. It was nice to know I was not alone in this aspect. This feeling didn’t last long (thankfully). The immense support I felt from my preceptors, directors, and other interns REALLY helped me see how capable I am of all things presented to me and how valid my feelings and questions are. After all this is a learning experience!


For this reason, I know I will cherish the experiences this internship has provided me but will forever be grateful to the individuals I met along the way.


Selene Leyva

Full-Time

184 views1 comment

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page