top of page

MCDPH Internship - Class of 2017



As a student who didn't directly apply for internships after graduation and instead sought it out after some work experience, I found MCDPH dietetics internship was the best fit for me. I appreciated that it was community focused as I came from a background of school nutrition, but it also allowed me to explore the clinical settings, wellness, etc. Each rotation was unique in its learning experiences but gave us a sample of what it would be like to work in that RD's shoes... and let's be honest, how often do you get to explore the ENTIRETY of a field to decide ultimately where you'd like to be one day. One of my favorite parts of the internship, were the friendships I built - almost four years later and I still am in touch with my fellow interns.


It was challenging sometimes going through rotations that I KNEW I had no interest in, however you can do most anything for a few days or weeks and in the end, it was always a positive learning experience. I believe if you love the field of dietetics but aren't quite sure what you'd like to do as an RD this internship is for you - it provides great variety and opportunity! My advice to future interns is to give each experience a chance, you never know how you will grow from it. Lastly, be professional! - each rotation is a job interview and you preceptors could likely someday be your peers. Show up early and do your best, you will only get out of this experience what you put in. Good luck future interns!


Isabel Jacobs RD

Banner University Medical Center Phoenix





82 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page